Cabinet forms the Executive branch of the Cayman Islands Government. The powers, duties and make-up of the Cabinet, including the appointment and proceedings, are set out in Part III of the 2009 Constitution.

Following the Westminster parliamentary system, if a political party gains the majority of seats in Parliament following an election, the leader of that party is appointed as premier by the governor of the Cayman Islands. Cabinet ministers are then appointed based on the advice of the premier. If no party wins a majority, all MPs choose the premier by a vote in the House.

Cabinet comprises the premier, the deputy premier, six other ministers and two ex-officio members (the deputy governor and the attorney general).

Cabinet Manual 2022

Cayman Islands Ministerial Code of Conduct, approved July 2021

Cabinet Post Meeting Summaries

The current Cabinet:

  • Premier Wayne Panton
    Cabinet Office and Minister for Sustainability and Climate Resiliency (MSCR)
    (The Premier also retains responsibility for the Royal Cayman Islands Police’s Budget).
  • Deputy Premier Christopher Saunders
    Finance, Economic Development and Labour (FEDL)
  • Juliana O’Connor-Connolly
    Education, District Administration, Lands and Survey (EDAL)
  • Bernie Bush
    Minister for Youth, Sports, Culture and Heritage (YSCH)
  • Kenneth Bryan
    Minister for Tourism and Transport (T&T)
  • Jay Ebanks
    Minister for Planning, Agriculture, Housing, and Infrastructure (PAHI)
  • Sabrina Turner
    Minister for Health, Wellness & Home Affairs (HWHA)
  • André Ebanks
    Minister for Financial Services & Commerce (FSC)
    and Minister for Investment, Innovation & Social Development (IISD)

Note: The Home Affairs portfolio was removed from Bernie Bush’s ministry and added to Sabrina Turner’s in April 2022. See here.

Ex-Officio Members:
  • Deputy Governor Franz Manderson
  • Attorney General Samuel Bulgin QC

Parliamentary Secretaries:

  • Katherine Ebanks-Wilks 
    PS to Minister Andre Ebanks (Financial Services) and Minister O’Connor-Connolly (Education)
  • Isaac Rankine 
    PS to Minister Jay Ebanks and Minister Turner (Home Affairs)
  • Heather Bodden
    PS to Minister Bryan (Tourism) and Minister Andre Ebanks (Social Development)
  • Dwayne Seymour (since November 2021)
    PS to Minister Saunders (Labour), Minister Jay Ebanks (Housing) and Minister Bryan (Transport)