Cayman Islands Constitution

From the official website of UK Legislation, which is the most accessible format for easy reference.

The Cayman Islands Constitutional Order 2009  is the highest law of the land. It establishes the system of governance, creates procedures and structure for the government and sets out the government’s powers. The Constitution came into effect on 6 November 2009 and the Bill of Rights came into effect two years later on 6 November 2012, with the exception of the sections dealing with the treatment of prisoners which came into effect on 6 November 2013.

A referendum on the draft document took place on 20 May 2009, at the same time as the General Elections. Although the ruling party, the People’s Progressive Movement, lost the election, the document that it had spearheaded prevailed and 62.66% of the electorate that participated in the referendum approved the Draft Constitution. The UK Privy Council approve the Order in London in June 2009.

The day the Cayman Islands Constitution Order came into effect, McKeeva Bush, as the leader of the ruling United Democratic Party, was sworn in as the Cayman Islands’ first premier on the steps of the Legislative Assembly. Juliana O’Connor-Connolly, who later became the islands’ second premier, was sworn in as deputy premier and Donovan Ebanks became the Cayman Islands first deputy governor.

More Information: